St. Vincent’s is a small community located at theeasternentrance of St. Mary’s Bay on the Avalon Peninsula of Newfoundland. It was visited by the Frenchand Portuguese fishermen between 1500-1700.Sometime shortly after 1700 English and Irish settlers permanently settled there and established a salmon fishery.
It features Holyrood Pond a 14 mi. long by 1 mi. wide pond, which contains many species of salt-water fish because a “gut” (small part of the beach) opens and the fish swim in to the pond.
The first school was built in St. Vincent’s in 1860 followed by a church on Chapel Hill in 1884.
Today it boasts a lookout station in the beach area where one can view the bay and observe the whales. It also houses the Fishermen’s Museumwhich contains artifacts of the community and surrounding area.